wmra logo  
contact button
WMRA Council (last day): definition of mountain running for IAAF Rule Book - 14 January 2013 Print
2013diack.jpgDuring the final day of meetings for the WMRA Council in Monte Carlo, the definition of mountain running was discussed at length which resulted in proposed language for a new rule to appear in the IAAF rule book: this new rule numbered 251 could replace actual rule 250.10. 
It was agreed by the Council that there are extreme variations in conditions in which Mountain running is practiced worldwide.

11th - 13th January 2013: three days for WMRA Council meeting at Monte Carlo - 13 January 2013 Print
2013council.jpgImportant WMRA Council meeting is working on progress on this weekend at Monte Carlo.
First of all, WMRA is happy to report that the WMRA relationship with the IAAF continues to be a solid one.

Not only does the WMRA receive financial support, but also advice on many administrative manners that assist the WMRA with their many programs including the World Mountain Running Championships, the WMRA Grand Prix, the World Long Distance Challenge, the International Youth Cup.
Representatives at the WMRA meetings from the IAAF included Essar GABRIEL, IAAF General Secretary, David OKEYO, Chairman IAAF Cross Country Committee, Sean WALLACE-JONES, Senior Manager, IAAF, and Paul HARDY, IAAF Competitions Director.
The WMRA is also pleased to have at our meetings, Pierre WEISS, honorary member of WMRA.
"We have conducted last year the IAAF strategic plan. You (WMRA) are part of the family," said GABRIEL during the WMRA meetings, "This road map (the strategic plan), has us looking at our priorities and our vision."
Happily this vision includes the WMRA and its many programs.

Mountain Running in the history of the Athletic: IAAF Centenary Historic Exhibition at Barcelona. - 26 November 2012 Print
museo2.jpgIAAF celebrated the Centenary of the Foundation at Barcelona with two days full of wonderful events.
More than 800 persons coming from all the world attended at the Celebration: among them about 200 athletes winner of gold medals to the Olympic Games and/or World Athletic Championships!
A lot of IAAF Officials (starting from President and Council Members) and Officials representing National Athletic Federations met at Barcelona for this unique moment.
Bruno Gozzelino, as WMRA President, attended to the Celebration.
Galia Puhaleva, like Bulgarian Athletic Federation, but also WMRA Council member, was also present.

Alex Baldaccini, Italian mountain running, have been voted as the European Athletes of October 2012. - 26 November 2012 Print
baldaccinic.jpgThe 24-year-old Alex Baldaccini won the men's race at the World Mountain Running Association (WMRA) Grand Prix final in Ljubljana, Slovenia, on 7 October: EA announced that he was voted as European Athlete of the Month for October in the men category.
In the women category, Matejai Kosovelj, Slovenian mountain runner arrived third, whilst Turkey's Elvan Abeylegesse have been voted as the European Athletes of the Month for October. Abeylegesse, the 2010 European Athletics Championships 10,000m gold medalist returned to form with a run over 20km in Paris in 65:42, the fastest time by a European over this distance since 2006. The double Olympic medallist missed out on most of the 2012 season due to injury.

Great success for 4. African Mountain Running Championship at Obudu (NGR), dominated by Ethiopians. - 18 November 2012 Print
2012aactm.jpgEthiopian runners took 4 gold medals (plus 1 silver and 2 bronze) at the 4. African Mountain Running Championships 2012, held on 17. November 2012 in Nigeria.
In the medal table also Uganda with 2 silver medals (one individual and one team in the men race) and Nigeria with silver medal in the women team Championships.

Etenesh Diro Neda in the women race and Abebe Dinkesa in the men race won the title of African Champion and also the 8. Obudu International mountain race, receiving 50.000,00 USD for this victory.
Both Ethiopian winners of last edition 2011, Mesfin Hunegnaewai in the men and Yalew Genet in the women did not finished the race.

Many Changes for the 4. Edition of African Mountain Running Championship at Obudu (Nigeria). - 16 November 2012 Print
2012aac.jpgAn Important edition of the Eighth Obudu International Mountain Race will be hosted in Nigeria on November 17th 2012.
The most important aspect is the new route of the race: a staff of Turkish experts, along with  Nigerian workers (100 people), under the direction of Erhan Basoglu prepared a new track for the race, following WMRA recommendations for the parameters to satisfy the expectations of the Nations of the WMRA for the 30. World Mountain Running Championships on 2014.
The track of the course has changed to standardise the terrain after the presentation of the official application bid in Italy last September.
Much work was involved and included two small bridges that were built for crossing little rivers.
The test of the race course will be very important.
At the last WMRA Congress it was decided to accept the application from NAF and Cross River State under conditions that some important organisational aspects will be tested during 2012 and 2013.
Another important step for improving logistical and organisational matters was the fact that top athletes this year arrived to the venue of the competition by plane.
The Sen. Liyel Imoke, Governor of Cross River State, organised the operation and opening of Bebi airstrip that is very near to Obudu Ranch Cattle.
This means that the athletes avoided the long  transfer by bus arrived directly to Bebi airstrip from Lagos.
The transfer from Bebi airstrip to Obudu was less than one hour.
In 2014, for the World Mountain Running Championships each athlete who competes in the race will receive a minimum financial support of $550 towards the costs to fly to Lagos or Abuja.
The costs of the trip to Bebi airstrip and return would be borne by the LOC.

<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Results 109 - 114 of 295

Back Button

European Athletics Logo IAAF Logo top button