wmra logo  
contact button
Arslan and Strähl rule mountains in Telfes im Stubai - 16 July 2009 Print
straehl.jpgTwo-time defending champion Ahmet Arslan of Turkey completed a hat-trick by winning the men's title at the 8th European Mountain Running Championships in the Austrian village of Telfes im Stubai on Sunday.

The gold medal in the senior women's category went to the 22-year-old Swiss mountain runner Martina Strähl.

Hundreds of supporters gathered around the 11-kilometer route to cheer for best mountain runners from 25 countries across Europe. The senior men had to negotiate not just the tortuous 11-kilometre route but also an altitude in excess of 1300 metres.


International Youth MR Challenge - Ostheim-Hausen - GER, 27. June 2009 - 01 July 2009 Print
susa08-boys-winner.jpgThe 4th edition of the WMRA Youth Challenge was held on June 27 in Ostheim, located about 100 km east of Frankfurt.
Entrants included 16 and 17 years old girls and boys representing 11 countries. Boys competed on a 4,7 and girls on 3,0km kilometer loop up & down course. The race organization was excellent from the hospitality to the event logistics. There is no doubt that the friendships made at the event will remain in the memories of the young runners for quite some time. The Italian team dominated in the girls' race and the Russian team dominated in the boys' competition. In the boys' race Russian standout Rusakov Andrey repeated his success from 2008 when he won the 3rd edition of the Youth Challenge.



Teteven-BUL, 31.May 2009 - 02 June 2009 Print
women_winer.jpgThe second Balkan MR Championships was held in city of Teteven in the middle of Balkan Mountains.
Swen Arne Hansen, European Athletic vice president and WMRA Council members were representing the international athletic and mountain running family.

Runners from eight Balkan countries were competing in 4 standard categories: Junior women and men and senior women and men. It was a lap - up/down - course with the 4,3km long lap and 280m ascent/descent that has to be run once be the JW, twice by the JM and women and three times by the men. The course is not a technical one, but steep, demanding descent makes it hard especially for the runners that have to run it more times.

Grand Ballon, 21. May 2009 - 27 May 2009 Print
wyatt-grandballon09.jpgThe first stage of the WMRA Grand Prix 2009 was held in a small French city Willer-sur-Thur in Alsace. Grand Ballon - the highest peak in Vosges Mountains - was the finish of the GP race for the second time.

Over 500 runners from 12 countries gathered on the start lines in Willer-sur-Thur (men) and Goldbach (women). Men ran a 12km course and the women ran just the upper 8km of the men's course.



2nd Balkan Championships - 20 May 2009 Print
Second Balkan MR championships will be held on Sunday, 31. May in Bulgarian city Teveten, about 100km east from Sofia. Runners will compete in 4 categories on up-downhill course. Junior women will run the 4 km long lap with 300m elevation once, women and junior men 2 times and men three times. Bulgarian Athletic federation as organizer is expecting runners from 9 Balkan countries. 1st Balkan Championships was organized in 2008 in Bulgarian spa resort Sapareva Banya - the venue of European MR Championships 2010.

GP opening at the Grand-Ballon (21st May 2009) - 20 May 2009 Print
emmanuel_meyssat-2008winner-reduced.jpgThe first scoring event of the WMRA Grand-Prix 2009 will be held at the Grand-Ballon Race in France on May 21st.

This is a season-opening race where top runners like race favorite Jonathan Wyatt assess their fitness and French citizens prepare for their National Championships.

The New Zealander is back on the top of the Vosges after his first success here in 2004 when he set a course record (58:19) on the 13,5km route that offers more than 1241m of elevation gain. Defending champion Emmanuel Meyssat is in good form having just won the second race of the French Mountain Cup in Seyssin-St-Nizier.

<< Start < Prev 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next > End >>

Results 187 - 192 of 245

Back Button

European Athletics Logo IAAF Logo top button