wmra logo  
contact button
An important day for the mountain running: wonderful World Championships in Kamnik. - 08 September 2010 Print
women_i.flower1.jpgAbout 350 athletes of 39 Nations run in the 26th World Mountain Running Championships in Kanmik (Slovenia) on 5th September 2010. It was the record of Nations present.
One third of these Nations (13 in total) won at least one medal.

Four Nations won gold medals: three each for Turkey (plus two silver) and Eritrea (plus one silver) and one each Italy (plus one silver and two bronze) and Austria.
Switzerland took one silver and one bronze medal, instead Germany, Romania and USA won each one silver medal.
Finally one bronze medal each was obtained from Belgium, France, Great Britain, Russia and Uganda.

Enthusiasm and records of nations present at 26th World Mountain Running Championships in Kamnik. - 03 September 2010 Print
w.ch._2010banner.jpg40 Nations will be present at the WMRA Congress on 4th September: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Rep., Eritrea, France, Great Britain, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, F.Y.R. of Macedonia, Montenegro, Monaco, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Switzerland, Sweden, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, U.S.A., Venezuela and hosting Country Slovenia.
Important is the official presence - for the first time - of Albania, Greece, Hungary, Japan and Sweden, also if Greece has not sent any athletes but only official to see more about the most important mountain running event in the year.

Peter Kukovica, President of Athletic Slovenian Federation (AZS), together Boris Mikluz, AZS Director, Dusan Papez, LOC President, and Anton Tone Smolnikar, Mayor of Kamnik City, are all very happy to host the 26th World Mountain Running Championships 2011, also because about 360 athletes coming from all the world will run on the beautiful venue of Velika Planina, fourthly kilometres from Ljubljana, Slovenia Capital.

Thank volunteers and sponsor the Championships will be certainly a fantastic success!


16 Countries on the podium of the 10th WMRA/WMA Master World Mountain Running Championships 2010. - 29 August 2010 Print
012.jpgKorbielow hosted the 10th WMRA/WMA Master World Mountain Running Championships 2010, held in Poland on last 28th August for the second time, after the first official edition of this Championships, in Ustron on 2001.

Czech Team won the medal table with a total of 12 medals: 8 gold (6 individual plus two team), 2 (2 team) silver and 2 (2 individual) bronze. Second was Germany with a total of 15 medals: 7 gold (4 individual +3 team), 5 (5 individual) silver and 3 bronze (1 individual +2 team), whilst third was Italy with a total of 13 medals: 5 (2 individual +3 team) gold, 7 (6 individual +1 team) silver and 1 (1 individual) bronze.  Other six Countries won gold medals: Slovakia (2 gold, 2 silver and 2 bronze), Poland (1 gold, 2 silver and 2 bronze), Ireland (1 gold and 1 silver), Scotland, Slovenia and Hungary (with 1 gold each). England obtained 2 medals (1 silver and 1 bronze), like Ukraine (2 bronze). Finally one bronze each won Austria, Netherland, New Zealand, Switzerland and USA.
So in total 16 Countries (of the 26 present) climbed on the podium  of the 10th WMRA/WMA Master World Mountain Running Championships 2010.


10th WMRA/WMA Master World Mountain Running Champs - Korbielow (POL):present athletes of 26 nations! - 27 August 2010 Print
mwmrc2010c.jpgOn next Saturday 28th  August 2010, in Korbielow Poland will be held the 10th WMRA/WMA Master World Mountain Running Championships.

At the start there will be more then 500 athletes coming from 26 nations from all the world (not only European runners but also American, Colombian, Venezuelan, Australian, New Zealenders and so on).

On the beautiful track of Pilsko Mountain,  Mirosław Dziergas, LOC President, with Stefan Kalinowski, LOC Vice President, Andrzej Puchacz, LOC General Secretary, and all LOC staff, are sure that there will be a great mountain running event, following suggest of WMRA Delegate, Wolfgang Munzel.

WMRA President, Bruno Gozzelino (ITA), and WMA Vice President, Brian Keaveney (CAN - Chairman of WMA Not Stadia Committee) will attend to the event, together representatives of PZLA, Edward Stawiarz (PZLA Council Member and former Olympic runner).

Many Local Authorities will support the Championships starting from Mizia Władysław, Mayor of Jeleśnia Community, and Zieliński Andrzej, Governor of Żywiec County, and also private sponsors gave their great assistance to the event.


Triumph of USA athletes at 7th World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge in Colorado Springs - 22 August 2010 Print
pikes_101.jpgFour gold medals for USA athletes at 7th World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge 2010 in Colorado Springs held on August, 21, at the 55th running of the Pikes Peak Ascent in Manitou Springs, Colorado.

Glenn Randall, USA (though not a member of the scoring Team USA), won the race timed in 2:09:28, followed by last year's World Long Distance Challenge Champion Marc Lauenstein, SUI, and Rickey Gates, USA, timed in 2:12:19 and 2:16:44 respectively.

Team USA wins gold besting Germany and England in the men's competition.

7th WMRA Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge, Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA: preview - 19 August 2010 Print
pikes_peak_for_wmra_page.jpg More than 2.000 runners are slated to run this year's 55th Pikes Peak Ascent to be held on Saturday, August 21, in Manitou Springs, Colorado (USA). The course starts on pavement in downtown Manitou Springs and runs for approximately 1.5 miles on pavement before turning to a steep gravel path and then single track trail for the remainder of the course which totals 13.32 miles with 7.815 feet of elevation gain.
This prestigious mountain run will host the 7th annual WMRA World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge. Athletes from 19 countries are represented in the entries for the Pikes Peak events including the Pikes Peak Ascent and the Pikes Peak Marathon (which will be run on Sunday, August 22). For the WMRA World Long Distance Challenge six countries will compete in the team competition (Australia, England, Germany, Scotland, Slovenia and USA).

<< Start < Prev 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next > End >>

Results 199 - 204 of 304

Back Button

European Athletics Logo IAAF Logo top button