wmra logo  
contact button
29. WMRCh. 2013 are coming to Poland as the main attraction of the Running Festival in Krynica-Zdrój - 04 September 2013 Print
logowmra2013or.jpgUpcoming Sunday 8th of September is the fest for mountain running champions and enthusiasts Krynica-Zdrój is the host for the 29. WMRA Mountain Running World Championships 2013.
There are 365 runners from 40 countries and 5 continents on the start list.

Japanese runners are coming, as are the Czechs, the Hungarians, the British, the Russians and of course the Polish: Anna Celińska (bronze medalist 10. WMRA World Long Distance M. R. Challenge 2013 at Szklarska Poręba) and Dominika Wiśniewska-Ulfik are in the best shape nowadays.
Still runners from Uganda, Eritrea, Italy, Turkey, Germany and USA are among the favourites.
The hot names are Annabel Mason from Great Britain, Çesminaz Yillmaz, Burcu Subatan and Ramazan Karagoz from Turkey (all juniors), Valentina Belotti and Elisa Desco from Italy, Marie-Laure Dumergues from France, Bernard and Martin Dematteis, Alex Baldaccini and Xavier Chevrier from Italy, Geoffrey Kusuro from Uganda and Max King from USA (all seniors).

Mountain Runner, Stephen Kiprotich surges to 2013 World Marathon title in Moscow. - 04 September 2013 Print
kiprotich2010kamnik.jpgStephen Kiprotich, one of Uganda's Mountain running team in 2010, who took the 2012 Olympic Marathon title in London 2012 has again scaled a global peak with victory in Moscow at the IAAF World Championships Marathon 2013.
Kiprotich surged ahead in the late stages to win ahead of 2 Ethiopian rivals.
With a best time of 2 hours and 7 minutes global dominance continues for this humble mountain running Ugandan athlete who took 5th place at the 2010 World Mountain Running Championships in Kamnik, Slovenia.


13. Master World Mountain Running Championships at Janske Lazne - 01 September 2013 Print
2013mastermedal.jpgThere were 23 Nations represented at the start of the 13. World Master Mountain Running Championships in Czech Rep.  at Janske Lazne.
13 nations took at least one medal!
475 master finished the race: 117 women and 358 men.

In total Germany won 15 gold medals of which 6 gold medals (exactly 33%) in the individual result with 2 men and 4 women in gold-medal position. Hosting Country, Czech Rep. won 5 gold medals (individual: 2 women plus team: 2 team men and 1 team women), followed by the Great Britain with 4 gold, two for men individual, one for women individual and one team men, and Italy with 3 gold, one for men individual, one team men and one team women. Two gold medals were gained by the Poland (both in men: one individual and one team) and the Austria (one individual men and one individual women).
Finally one gold medal was one by Slovakia, Switzerland and USA.
Also France and New Zealand had athletes on the podium with one silver each and Ireland and Netherlands with one bronze each.


Master World Mountain Running Championships 2013 in Janske Lazne is ready to start. - 28 August 2013 Print
2013jlazne_cop.jpgThe participants began to come to the 13th World Masters Mountain Running Championships in Janské Lázně.
Competitors representing 25 countries among the 503 entries will vie for individual and team medals on race day.

The entrants include seven from the United States, including 1993 World Mountain Trophy silver-medalist Dave Dunham who will race in the 45-49 age group.
A complete start list is available at this link http://www.maratonstav.cz/.
Race weekend kicks off on Thursday, August 29, with accreditation, followed by a ceremony and parade on Friday evening.
Races start with the 75-79 year age group at 11:00 a.m., and conclude with the 35-39 age group at 1:40 p.m.
The closing ceremony gets underway at 5:00 p.m. The afternoon will be followed by a cultural program.

M. Kosovelj and A. Confortola dominated the 10. WMRA World Long Distance M. R. Challenge 2013. - 03 August 2013 Print
2013ldmrch_kosovelj.jpgMitjia Kosovelj and Antonella Confortola won the 10. WMRA World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge 2013 and Italy took gold medal both team's category men and women.
16 WMRA Athletics Member Federation countries were present at the event and eight of them come back home with at least one medal: Italy took three gold and one silver medals, Slovenia one gold medal, then Wales gained one silver and one bronze medal, Czech Rep. and Scotland one silver each and Romania, England and, hosting Country, Poland one bronze each. Also present were Australia, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Russia, South Africa, Ukraine and USA.
The 10. WMRA World Long Distance M. R. Challenge was held linked with 5. Maraton Karkonoski on a new track really long 41 km.
594 runners started and 563 finished the race.
Among them, 46 men and 40 women runners were the participants at the WMRA event.

16 Countries present at the 10. WMRA World Long Distance M. R. Challenge 2013 at Szklarska Poreba. - 29 July 2013 Print
ldmrch2013logo.jpgOn August 3rd, 2013, Szklarska Poręba (Poland) will welcome the best long distance mountain runners.
There will be tenth WMRA World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge 2013.

Szklarska Poręba is a town beautifully located in the valley of the Kamienna River and its tributaries at the height of 440-886m above sea-level, surrounded from the south by the slopes of Karkonosze, with Mt. Szrenica (1362m AMSL) towering over the town, from the north by the Jizera Mountains with the High Stone (1058m AMSL) and the Black Mountain (965m AMSL), and from the East by the Foothills of Karkonosze, separating the town from Jeleniogórska Valley.
The distance runs through marked hiking trails along the ridge of the Karkonosze Mountains.
700 athletes from 22 countries and 16 WMRA Athletics Member Federation countries will take part in the race for the championship. Exactly the Countries who announced their official presence are: Australia, Czech Rep., England, Germany, Hungary. Ireland, Italy, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Slovenia, South Africa, Ukraine, USA, Wales and, of course, hosting country, Poland.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Results 43 - 48 of 249

Back Button

European Athletics Logo IAAF Logo top button