wmra logo  
contact button
Triumph of USA athletes at 7th World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge in Colorado Springs Print
pikes_101.jpgFour gold medals for USA athletes at 7th World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge 2010 in Colorado Springs held on August, 21, at the 55th running of the Pikes Peak Ascent in Manitou Springs, Colorado.

Glenn Randall, USA (though not a member of the scoring Team USA), won the race timed in 2:09:28, followed by last year's World Long Distance Challenge Champion Marc Lauenstein, SUI, and Rickey Gates, USA, timed in 2:12:19 and 2:16:44 respectively.

Team USA wins gold besting Germany and England in the men's competition.

Total time for USA men team was: 7:08:18.3 with Rickey Gates (2:16:44.8), Ryan R Hafer (2:20:04.1), Tommy Manning (2:31:29.5), Eric M Blake (2:34:53.4) and Zac V Freudenburg (2:41:53.0): England was second in total time of 7:18:02.9 with team formed by Andy S Peace (2:22:25.0), Morgan J Donnelly (2:23:05.8), John A Brown (2:32:32.1) and Pete Vale (2:43:16.2). Germany finished third in total time of 7:39:57.2
Timo Zeiler (2:29:33.5), Marco Sturm (2:30:40.6) and Ulrich Benz (2:39:43.1)
Fourth Scotland team (8:06:50.2 with Paul J Raistrick, Kenny Richmond and Simon Peachey) and fifth Slovenia team (8:53:15.5 with Marjan Zupancic, Joze Jensterle and Martin Stendler). Australia finished only with two runners (Andrew M Lee and Brendan J Davies) and for this reason was out team result
pikes_094.jpgOn the women's side, the top three finishers were much closer in time finishing within one minute of one another.
Brandy Erholtz, USA, (pictured) timed in 2:41:51, was victorious followed by Kim Dobson, USA (thought not a member of Team USA) in 2:41:53, while Anna Frost, NZL, rounded out the top three positions timed in 2:42:46.
USA women team won gold medal with total time of 8:41:15.1 (with Brandy L Erholtz 2:41:38.6, Megan C Kimmel 2:54:51.2 and Lisa M Goldsmith 3:04:45.3). Germany was silver medalist in 9:02:43.9 (with Anja Carlsohn 2:54:33.1, Diane Lehmann 2:59:11.2 and Kerstin Straub 3:08:59.6 and Scotland gained bronze medal in 9:31:06.7 (with Claire F Gordon 2:53:50.1, Fiona E Maxwell 2:55:35.3 and Iona Robertson 3:41:41.3)
Fourth finished Slovenia in 11:04:53.0 (with Ursa Trobec, Mihaela Tusar and Marjeta Jensterle), instead England team finished only with two runners (Anna L Lupton and Victoria L Wilkinson) and for this reason was out team result.
1715 runners finished the race.
The prize giving ceremony was attended by Chief Executive Officer, Douglas Logan, WMRA President, Bruno Gozzelino, Pikes Peak Race Director, Ron Ilgen, and Runner's World Chief Running Officer, Bart Yasso.

Bruno Gozzelino and Nancy Hobbs by WMRA

Photos by Nancy Hobbs:
men podium with Ron Ilgen and Bruno Gozzelino, on the left, and Douglas Logan, on the right.
Brandy Erholz, winner women at the finish line.

Back Button

European Athletics Logo IAAF Logo top button