wmra logo  
contact button
European M. R. Championships 2011: new bronze medallist in senior men race individual and team. Print
ealogomrbursa.jpgThe Federacao Portuguesa de Atletismo has imposed the sanction for a first offence of two (2) years ineligibity from 11.8.2011 until 10.08.2013 and disqualification of all results since and including 10.07.2011 to the male athlete Jose Manuel Goncalves "Gaspar".
This decision was taken following an in-competition doping control conducted on 10.07.2011 during the 10. European Mountain Running Championships 2011, in Bursa, Turkey.
Jose Manuel Goncalves "Gaspar" finished third in the senior men race and Portugal team was third in the team result.
Following this decision, the result of this competition must be amended and the new result in 10. European Mountain Running Championships 2011 for senior men category is amended like follows:
Senior men - Individual
1. Ahmet ARSLAN   TUR  58.08
2. Gabriele ABATE   ITA  58.40
3. Bernard DEMATTEIS   ITA  59.41
... Jose Manuel GONCALVES  POR  DQ IAAF Rule 32.2.a
Senior men - Team
1. Italy     ITA  10 pts
2. Turkey    TUR  32 pts
3. France    FRA  36 pts
4. Portugal    POR  49 pts
The total points of the remaining teams shall be reduced by 3 points according to the updated individual positions, but no any change there is in their position.
The French team which won the bronze medal was formed by Georges Burrier, Said Jandari, Didier Zago and Julien Rancon.
So the medal table is changed but always nine countries won medals at the 10. European Mountain Running Championships in Bursa, Turkey, in which 26 countries took part: in fact France replaced Portugal in the medal table.
The host nation Turkey won nine medals in total (four gold, three silver, two bronze) and  Italy were next with six medals (two gold, two silver, two bronze): Then Romania (one gold, one silver) and Switzerland (one gold and one bronze) followed with two medals each.  The other countries on the podium where Russia and Czech Republic with one silver each, then Austria, France and Slovenia with one bronze each.
EA will arrange the procedure for handing over of the medals to new winners.

News printed by Bruno Gozzelino (WMRA)

Back Button

European Athletics Logo IAAF Logo top button