wmra logo  
contact button
20. Jungfrau-Marathon: two Marathons at World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge 2012 Print
2012ldrmchprev1.jpgAfter 2007 the Word Mountain Running Association (WMRA) has chosen the Jungfrau-Marathon for the second time to organize the World Long Distance Mountain Running Challenge.
The women world champion will be chosen on 8 September 2012.
The men's world championships race will take place on 9 September 2012.
On Saturday all the women categories as well as the men categories M50 to M70 will start for the race.
On Sunday the men categories M20, M40 and M45 will start for the race.
The starting time for both marathons (Saturday and Sunday) will be 9 am. Finally the entries are 8.200 and runners come from 70 countries participating in the marathon.
2012ldmrchprev.jpgMen's favorites are Markus Hohenwarter (winner 2011), Marco de Gasperi (winner 2010), Mitija Kosovelj (defending world challange), and the strong Kenyans, Ethiopian and USA teams.
Women's favorites are Aline Camboulives (winner 2011), Jasmin Nunige (SUI) and the strong teams from the USA.
As  LOC say, the Jungfrau and the world famous panorama have made this event a marathon of superlatives a cult race and the alpine equivalent of the New York event. All the present can run with a complete view of Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau finishing no ordinary marathon but a unique runners experience .
Along the way the scenery keeps changing: The emerald Lake of Brienz contrasts with the icy mountain giants of the region, the sheer rock faces in the Lauterbrunnen Valley with the bubbling waters of the Lütschine and the gnarled stone pines below the Wengernalp with the eternal ice of the majestic Silberhorn.
Highlights will be the opening and award ceremonies, performances from DJ Ötzi Saturday and Sunday as well as two extra shows of the William Tell Open-Air Theatre.

news by LOC and Bruno Gozzelino (WMRA)

pictures source by LOC
On front page:
- start of the race;
On second page:
- one top runner during the race.

Back Button

European Athletics Logo IAAF Logo top button