Uganda and Kenya won titles at 5th African Mountain Running Championships 2013
2013obuduwm.jpgThe 5. Edition of African Mountain Running Championship at Obudu (Nigeria) offered a great show for the discipline.
The race, held in Nigeria on November 23rd 2013, together the Night Obudu International Mountain had 112 runners started: 71 in the men event  and 41 in the women race.

Finally were present teams of 4 countries: Uganda, Cameroon, Kenya and of course Nigeria.
Also runners from Ethiopia took part to the competition. Just four Ethiopians women dominated the competition, in the female category. Yalew Genet was always leader during all the race winning with record of the race time of 58.55 (first tie under one hour!); second finished Selan Abere with time of 59.46; third was Berha Afera with time 1.00.00 and fourth Neda Etenesh with time of 1.02.36. These position remained the same during the track after a short battle at the start.
Due the fact that the entries were not sent by the National Athletic Federation, in the African Championships the individual title of African Champion was won by Kenyan Oltaruesh Perrine Nenkampi (fifth at the finish with time of 1:04.29), in front of her fellows - both Kenyans - Angelina Mutheu, silver medal (and sixth with 1:05.50) and Mildred Chebosis, bronze medal (seventh with 1:07.07).
fotograf.jpgIn the team women list Kenya gained the title with 6 points, second and silver medal for Nigeria team with 18 points (placing the two best runners of the team in the first ten position)and third and bronze medal for Cameroon with 36 points.
Also the men race had a simple history because Kenyan Rono Pjilemon at the beginning of the ascent took the first position and Ethiopian Abebe Dinkesa, defending winner of last year, was not able to cross over him. So at the finish Rono won the 9th Obudu International race with record time of 1.00.43, defeating Abebe Dinkesa by 14 seconds!
Ugandan Geoffrey Kusuro, third at the finish line with time of 1.02.08 became African Champion 2013. Fourth in the Obudu race finished Ethiopian Atalay Yirsaw (time 1.02.27) and fifth was Kenyan David Kwemoi (time 1.03.32). In Afrian Championships silver medallist was Ugandan Philip Kiplimo (sixth at the finish with time of 1.03.56) and bronze medallist was Kenyan Ondara Mzcdonard (eight at the finish with time of 1.04.05, just one second behind Ethiopian Didi Bonsa, seventh).
In the team men results, the title was won - for the third time - from Uganda team with 7 points.2013obudutm.jpg Kenya was present with an official team, led by Moses Tanui, IAAF World Champion 10.000 meters at Tokyo 1991 and silver medal at the World IAAF Championships at Stuttgart on 1993 gained the silver team's medal with 15 points. Hosting Country, Nigeria, took bronze medal in the team African Championships with 36 points. Fourth finished Cameroon with 43 points.
NAF, LOC and officials of Cross River State received congratulations from all the participants.
They would like to celebrate the tenth edition of the race with a special event and WMRA will try to support this willing!
The WMRA President, Bruno Gozzelino, and the WMRA Council member, Turkish Erhan Basoglu,  attended to the event.

Edited from Bruno Gozzelino (WMRA) 

Source of the pictures:
On front page (by Erhan Basoglu, WMRA):
- Rono Pjilemon, men winner of Obudu race, at the finish.   
On second page (by Erhan Basoglu, WMRA):
- podium team women;
- podium team men.