wmra logo hor trans march2020


World Cup Round 6 - Italy hosts at the famous Tre Cime di Lavaredo

 A chance to run and race in a UNESCO World Heritage site welcomes all participants at the Drei Zinnen Alpine run that finishes beneath the iconic dolomite peaks of the Tre Cime di Lavaredo starting in the region of Alto Adige in Italy.

This year the race will take place for the twenty-second time and will make its debut on the WMRA Mountain Running World Cup calendar.  From the first edition in 1998 the athletes and athletes from Italy dominated the race, with 14 successes leading the ranking by nations.
Nine times an "Azzurra" has risen to the top step of the podium, while so far there have been five victories for an Italian athlete. Among the winning athletes there are also two South Tyrolean athletes: Nathalie Santer, the former biathlete from Dobbiaco, won the first edition in Sesto Pusteria, and the Sarentinese runner Renate Rungger triumphed 15 years later. The organizers of the ALV Sextner Dolomiten association are still waiting for a South Tyrolean victory in the men's field.  Perhaps this barrier could be broken by Hannes Perkmann; the Sarentino athlete wants to participate in its debut World Cup appearance. The last Italian victory in the men's field dates back to 2012 with Gabriele Abate.  Among women, however, in 2016 Sara Bottarelli established herself as a local Italian winner on a shortened track due to weather.
Behind Italy, New Zealand ranks as the second nation in the South Tyrol Drei Zinnen Alpine Run with eight victories. Only Jonathan Wyatt, living legend of the mountain race and current president of the WMRA (World Mountain Running Association), reached the finish line at the Locatelli refuge six times with what is still the best time.  In this way the former World Mountain running champion also holds the record of victories at the renowned South Tyrolean event. His fellow country woman Anna Frost, on the other hand, has two successes.
After 20 years a Germanic winner
 Six victories have gone in the past two decades to athletes and athletes from the Czech Republic, to which Anna Pichrtova, who boasts the record of victories with four races won, contributed greatly. Immediately behind this, with four first places, is Germany, winners of the last edition, with Anton Palzer and Michelle Maier completing a double for the country last year. With her triumph last year, Maier also set a new course record with a time of 1h42'34 "
With three victories it's Poland in fifth place, ahead of Eritrea, which has two, in addition to France, Great Britain and Switzerland (each a victory). The record of the route in the men's field is held by the former mountain running world champion Petro Mamu: in 2013 the Eritrean athlete reached the finish line in 1h22'44 ‘‘. It may be that this record is broken on September 14th with the debut of the World Cup race bringing a very competitive line up.
Anyone wishing to compete with the international elite of mountain running on one of the most beautiful routes in the world can do so: until 8.00 pm on 11 September registration is open for the Südtirol Drei Zinnen Alpine Run on the official website.

Cagnati Luca SDZAR 2018SMALL

 Südtirol Drei Zinnen Alpine Run – albo d‘oro (winners circle)
1998:​Marco Gaiardo ITA 1:23.25 / Nathalie Santer ITA 1:49.18**
1999:​Marco Gaiardo ITA 1:23.46 / Izabela Zatorska POL 1:38.20**
2000:​Emanuele Manzi ITA 1:23.22 / Izabela Zatorska POL 1:35.17**
2001:​Jonathan Wyatt NZL 1:19.58 / Anna Pichrtova CZE 1:31.47**
2002:​Jan Blaha CZE 1:46.11​ / Anna Pichrtova CZE​ 2:00.54***
2003:​Thierry Icart FRA 1:47.58 / Ruth Pickvance CZE 2:11.43***
2004:​Jonathan Wyatt NZL 1:40.17 / Anna Pichrtova CZE 1:57.54***
2005:​Jonathan Wyatt NZL 1:40.35 / Anna Pichrtova CZE 1:56.14***
2006:​Martin Ashley Cox GBR 1:45.27 / Anna Frost NZL 2:06.01***
2007:​Antonio Molinari ITA 1:28.54​ / Antonella Confortola ITA 1:46.44
2008:​Helmut Schiessl GER 44.50 / Antonella Confortola ITA 53.52*
2009:​Helmut Schiessl GER 1:28.51 / Anna Frost NZL 1:42.59
2010:​Jonathan Wyatt NZL 1:26.23 / Mariagrazia Roberti ITA 1:44.45
2011:​Jonathan Wyatt NZL 1:29.02 / Mariagrazia Roberti ITA 1:51.00
2012:​Gabriele Abate ITA 1:26.16 / Mariagrazia Roberti ITA 1:47.36
2013:​Petro Mamu ERI 1:22.44 / Renate Rungger ITA 1:49.28
2014:​Jonathan Wyatt NZL 1:27.58 / Victoria Kreuzer SUI ​1:48.10
2015:​Andrzej Dlugosz POL 1:31.01 / Antonella Confortola ITA 1:48.06
2016:​Petro Mamu ERI 1:02.06 / Sara Bottarelli ITA 1:16.24*
2017:​annullata​​​/cancelled due to weather
2018:​Anton Palzer GER 1:29.31 / Michelle Maier GER 1:42.34
* tracciato abbreviato
***mezza maratona

Ufficio stampa Südtirol Drei Zinnen Alpine Run:

Hannes Kröss
HK Media

Photos: www.dreizinnenlauf.com

Cagnati Luca SDZAR 2018SMALL

© World Mountain Running Association
Quai Antoine 1er.
BP359 MC 98007

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Staff Login | Uploads | Website Developed by: I'm The Black Sheep