Skip to main content

wmra logo hor trans march2020


World Mountain Running Championships 2020 officially announced

WMRA World Championships will celebrate its 36th edition, for the first time in Spain, at Haría Extreme Lanzarote on the 14-15 November 2020. 
The countdown has started for Spain to host its first World Mountain Running Championships. Lanzarote will be the headquarters of the most important race throughout the year, and after the recent Championship held in Patagonia (Argentina), the WMRA Council has settled the dates for the event. The 14-15th of November the volcanic island of Lanzarote will welcome the different Federations who will compete for the World title, with the Real Federacion Española de Atletismo (RFEA) as their host.
  As in 2019 in Argentina, Lanzarote will host both the World Mountain Running Championships and the World Long Distance Mountain Running Championships. The existing Haria Extreme 42k race will act as the Long Distance Championships and a special route for the Classic Mountain Race will be added. The junior competition will also be held the same weekend, again on a special course, in order to encourage the youngest runners to discover Lanzarote's magical environment.
Ten days ago, the Spanish delegation who travelled to Villa La Angostura received the WMRA flag from the Association's president, Jonathan Wyatt, a symbolic relay which starts the next World Championships organization. Lanzarote faces twelve intense months to prepare for an event which will be a milestone in Spanish Mountain Running.
Haría Extreme Lanzarote will not modify its date of celebration and will be held at mid-November as usual. In 2020, the World Championships will be a special gift to honour the tenth edition of the race, an event which has become a reference for the mountain running lovers.
#WMRALanzarote will also showcase the true passion shown by the Canaries mountain runners and insitutions for the sport, with has developed major international mountain running events now held at each of its seven islands all through the year, due to its unique combination of sea, volcanic mountains and perpetual spring weather.
For more information